How To: Restore From a Backup in OmniFocus

It’s not very often things go wrong when dealing with OmniFocus, however that’s not to say you shouldn’t be prepared for when they do. It can be all to easy to delete a project and then, weeks later, find yourself needing to re-activate it or review the action steps that were taken. In fact, I need to do an intentional deletion tomorrow evening. I’ll be the special guest on Tim Stringer’s Learn OmniFocus live session and I’ll be showing my live database. There is, however, one client that I have with whom I have signed an NDA, so I need to be sure that any data pertaining to that client isn’t displayed. To help meet this requirement, as well as share my other live data (which may seem mad, but this is important to me - I like sharing things ‘as-is’), I’m going to delete that client’s folder within OmniFocus and then restore the next day. 

This is how. 

Confirm Backups are Taking Place

OmniFocus is kind of obsessive when it comes to protecting your data, so there is no option for configuring backups - they happen automatically. Every two hours, backups are created in the following locations: 

• Omni store version: /Library/Containers/com.omnigroup.OmniFocus3/Data/Library/Application Support/OmniFocus/Backups/

• Mac App Store version: /Library/Containers/com.omnigroup.OmniFocus3.MacAppStore/Data/Library/Application Support/OmniFocus/Backups/

You can verify their presence by opening OmniFocus and going to File -> Show Backups. You will see approximately 2 weeks worth of backup files available. Choose the file you wish to restore from

Complete Restore

When you open the backup file, a second window will appear which displays your OmniFocus data at the date/time of the backup.

backp1.png

You can click the button that says Revert To This Backup if you want to do a complete restore of everything. However in my case, I only want to restore a folder, or a number of projects. Initially I thought I would be able to drag/drop from one window to another, however that isn’t the case. Thankfully, we have the ability to use good old fashioned Copy/Paste to lift the folder from the backup window and paste into our active one. 

Great for those mistakes (or in my case, planned deletions) that can plague us!